TRIESTE

Italy

Plea against ambition

Ambition—what a strange sentiment! This philosophical thought arises automatically when we reach the entrance gate of the park of Miramare. The October morning is splendid and sunny, with that yellow autumn light that intensifies all the colours, sensations, and emotions. The bay of Trieste spreads out before us in all its splendour, the countryside rising in soft and green curves sprinkled with white spots where the karstic rocks interrupt the harmonious mono-tints of the vegetation. The seagulls croak, the waves lick the shore, a nice, little sea breeze sweeps over us with its fresh and salty fragrances. We feel comfortably alive. Before us rises the white and unreal-looking entry gate of Miramare. To be honest, when we walk through it, our sole ambition would be to stay and never leave again.

On the low wall that follows the beach line, an upper-case "M". "M" as in "Maximilian. "M" as in "misery". Wait, there's also an "m" in "ambition" as well as in "emperor". After a lust bend, we discover Miramare Castle in all its white and somewhat kitsch beauty. It's nestled in its sea shrine and exhales a Riviera perfume, a certain smell of women wearing crinoline dresses, of old-fashioned carriages and outdated military uniforms. That's the castle constructed for archduke Maximilian of Austria, brother of emperor Francis-Joseph, and his wife Charlotte of Belgium more than 160 years ago, in that astonishing style mesh-up that comprises quotes and hints of the Roman, Gothic and Renaissance styles.

We step inside after having purchased our tickets. The same style mesh-up can be observed in the vast hall with its dark, wooden stairs as well as in the rooms downstairs. To some people the atmosphere would seem stuffy, heavy and stilted. Yet when compared to the vast chambers and salons, all over-gilded, that we've seen in other Hapsburg residences, we notice that everything here shows a taste for simpler, less ostentatious pleasures, far away from any unhealthy ambition. Once more, on discovering the views from the rooms, we ask ourselves why someone who owned such a gem would ever want to leave this castle in order to stumble into a badly prepared adventure.

On the first floor landing, a very beautiful fountain. The rooms up here, some of which have been refurnished after Maximilian's untimely death, were primarily used as reception and representation rooms. Little surprise, on one wall, we find the portrait of the man who knew how to awaken and exaggerate poor Maximilian's… sad ambition. The same man who, because of it, sent him to a nigh certain death. We're talking about Napoleon III, emperor of the French. We finish our visit with a stroll through the marvellous park. Without any other ambition than having a glass of Aperol Spritz in the sun…

GOOD TO KNOW

  • The Archduke Maximilian of Austria—his full name is Ferdinand Maximilian Joseph of Hapsburg-Lorraine—is born in Vienna, Austria, on July 6, 1832. He remains in the shadow of his elder brother Franz Joseph I, who reigns as as Emperor on the hereditary lands of the Hapsburgs. In 1857, Maximilian marries Charlotte of Belgium. A few weeks later, his brother names him viceroy of the kingdom of Lombardy-Venetia. During this period Maximilian has Miramare built. In 1864, a group of Mexican conservatives supported by Napoleon III proposes him the throne of Mexico; unfortunately, he decides to to accept. He arrives in Mexico, which is under French occupation at the time, and reigns as emperor under the name of Maximilian I. But the French troops are withdrawn in 1867, and the Mexican liberals led by Benito Juárez openly oppose Maximilian and form an army. The emperor sends Charlotte back to Europe, where she tries in vain to rally other courts to her cause. In the meantime, the troops of the liberals are evolving, and only the capital of Mexico remains with the imperial troops, as well as Veracruz, Puebla and Queretaro. On March 4, 1867, the forces commanded by the liberal general Mariano Escobedo besiege Queretaro. The following May 15, the city is taken, and Emperor Maximilian is caught. He is tried by a court of justice, sentenced to death and executed by order of Juárez, on June 19, 1867. His wife becomes mad, and her brother, Leopold II of Belgium, interns her in the castle of Tervueren. She dies on January 19, 1927, at the castle of Bouchout. Read also the short biography on wikipedia; another one can be found here; read about Maximilian's deathly Mexican adventure over here – EN
  • Bus #6 of the Trieste Trasporti allows you to reach Miramare without any complications; the ticket costs 1,55 euros. Check out and download the stations and timetables hereEN, IT, SLOV
  • You can enter the park of Miramare for free. To visit the castle, the entrance fee is 8-12 euros (depending on the time of year of your visit). More information the Miramare website – EN, IT

© www.les-ptits-chats-en-goguette.com

Photos and texts of this website are protected by international copyright laws without exception. Any copy or use of these photos and texts, even partially, is strictly prohibited unless we have granted a written authorization.

TRIESTE

Italie

Plaidoyer contre l'ambition

Quel sentiment étrange que l'ambition! Automatiquement, cette pensée philosophique surgit quand nous arrivons à l'entrée du domaine de Miramare. La matinée d'octobre est merveilleuse et ensoleillée, avec une lumière jaune d'arrière-saison qui rend toutes les couleurs, toutes les sensations, toutes les émotions plus intenses. La baie de Trieste étale ses splendeurs devant nous, la mer scintille, le ciel se courbe vers l'infini, le pays se lève en douce ondulations verdâtres parsemées de tâches blanches là où les rochers karstiques interrompent l'harmonieuse mono-teinte de la végétation. Les mouettes croassent, les vagues lèchent la rive, une petite brise maritime nous balaie de ses fragrances fraîches et iodées. Nous nous sentons agréablement vivants. Devant nous s'élève l'entrée du domaine, blanche et irréelle. À vrai dire, quand nous entrons, notre seule ambition serait de rester et de ne plus repartir.

Sur le muret qui ceint le chemin le long de la plage, un "M" en majuscule. "M" comme Maximilien. "M" comme maudit. Tiens, il y a aussi un "m" dans "ambition" tout comme dans "empereur". Après un dernier virage, nous découvrons le château de Miramare dans toute sa beauté blanche un peu kitsch. Il se niche dans son écrin maritime et exhale un parfum de Riviera, de femmes en crinolines, de calèches, d'uniformes militaires surannés. C'est le château que l'archiduc Maximilien d'Autriche, frère de l'empereur François-Joseph, et son épouse Charlotte de Belgique se sont fait construire voilà plus de 160 ans dans un style assez étonnant qui cite, pêle-mêle, le roman, le gothique et la Renaissance.

Nous pénétrons à l'intérieur, billet en mains. Le même mélange des styles se poursuit dans le hall avec son escalier en bois sombre et dans les pièces du rez-de-chaussée. L'ambiance peut paraître encombrée, lourde et empesée à certains. Mais en la comparant aux vastes salles et salons figés sous l'or que nous connaissons d'autres résidences des Habsburg, nous constatons que tout ici respire le goût des plaisirs plus simples, moins ostentatoires, loin d'ambitions malsaines. Une fois de plus, en découvrant les vues que l'on a depuis les pièces, nous nous nous demandons pourquoi quelqu'un qui possède un tel joyau ait voulu quitter cette demeure pour se jeter dans une aventure mal fagotée.

Au premier étage, sur le palier, une très belle fontaine d'intérieur. Les pièces, dont certaines réaménagées après la mort de Maximilien, étaient surtout utilisées  comme salons de réception et salles de représentation. Petite surprise, sur un mur, nous trouvons le portrait de celui qui a su réveiller et exacerber… l'ambition malheureuse du pauvre Maximilien, et qui l'a, de ce fait, envoyé à une mort presque certaine: Napoléon III, empereur des Français. Nous terminons notre visite par un tour dans les très beaux jardins. Sans autre ambition que de boire un petit Aperol Spritz au soleil…

TRUCS & ASTUCES

  • L'archiduc Maximilien d'Autriche – de son nom complet, Ferdinand Maximilien Joseph de Habsbourg-Lorraine – naît à Vienne en Autriche le 6 juillet 1832. Il reste dans l'ombre de son frère aîné François-Joseph Ier, qui règne en tant qu'empereur sur les pays héréditaires des Habsbourg. En 1857, Maximilien épouse Charlotte de Belgique. Quelques semaines plus tard, son frère le nomme vice-roi du royaume de Lombardie-Vénétie. C'est à cette époque-là que Maximilien fait construire Miramare. En 1864, un groupe de conservateurs mexicains soutenus par Napoléon III lui propose le trône du Mexique, qu'il a la mauvaise idée d'accepter. Il arrive donc au Mexique, sous occupation française à l'époque, et règne en tant qu'empereur sous le nom de Maximilien Ier. Mais les troupes françaises sont retirées en 1867, et les libéraux mexicains menés par Benito Juárez s'opposent ouvertement à Maximilien et forment une armée. L'empereur renvoie donc Charlotte en Europe, où elle tente en vain de rallier d'autres cours à sa cause. Entre-temps, les troupes des libéraux avancent, et bientôt, il ne restent aux troupes impériales que la capitale Mexico, ainsi que Veracruz, Puebla et Querétaro. Le 4 mars 1867, les forces commandées par le général libéral Mariano Escobedo assiègent Querétaro. Le 15 mai suivant, la ville est prise, et l'empereur Maximilien est appréhendé. Il est jugé par une cour de justice, condamné à mort et exécuté sur ordre de Juárez, le 19 juin 1867. Son épouse sombre dans la folie, et son frère, le roi des Belges Léopold II, la fait interner dans le château de Tervueren. Elle meurt le 19 janvier 1927, au château de Bouchout. Voir la biographie succincte de Wikipedia et ce petit article sur sa carrière "mexicaine". – FR
  • Le bus no. 6 de Trieste Trasporti vous permet de rejoindre le domaine de Miramare sans trop de difficultés; le ticket simple coûte 1,55 euros. Vous trouverez les arrêt et horaires à télécharger iciEN, IT, SLOV
  • L'entrée au parc de Miramare est gratuit, celle pour le château coûte entre 8 et 12 euros (prix selon la saison). Plus de renseignements sur le site du château – EN, IT

© www.les-ptits-chats-en-goguette.com

Toutes les images et textes sur ce site sont protégés par copyright. La reproduction et l'exploitation, même partielles, de ces images ou textes sont strictement interdites sans accord écrit au préalable.